Praising My Savior All the Day Long.

I’m exhausted. I’m a little discouraged. And yet, I can honestly say I am incredibly thankful.

I am thankful that God doesn’t just make things go smooth and easy for us all the time because then I remember that I must rely on Him, and that is the best place to be. I am thankful that He pulls me back to that place of recognizing my constant and complete reliance on Him as soon as I may have stupidly slipped into a moment of thinking I had things all perfectly together and in order (cause that is just not happening till that glorious day I meet Him face to face).

I am thankful for the body of Christ that God has blessed us with. I am thankful for the fellow young mom in our church body who let me borrow a book a few weeks ago, a book that was so encouraging and refreshing to me, just another young mommy striving to glorify God in every seemingly small choice, attitude, and move I make. A book that reminded of the vitality of soaking myself in the truths of scripture, which sometimes in my mommy world means listening to hymns (because sitting down and just reading is not always an immediate option as the family & household manager).

This kind reminder, of the encouragement of just hearing and instilling God’s truths in my heart, was just what God knew I needed to read last night. He knew I needed to read it so that today, when I arrived home from church with two little girls who had had a “less than stellar” morning at church, I would turn to His truths instead of just wallowing in the hardness of juggling two rather, let’s just say  “unsocial” girls this morning.

Wood-Planks-Background-2161404As our two sweet girls & I began listening to the hymns (which I immediately turned on once home) while we started to prep lunch for daddy, who would be home from church soon as well, I remembered this important truth (from the hymn Blessed Assurance by Frances Crosby)….

“Blessed assurance, Jesus is mine! Oh, what a foretaste of glory divine!
Heir of salvation, purchase of God, Born of His Spirit, washed in His blood.

This is my story, this is my song, Praising my Savior all the day long;
This is my story, this is my song, Praising my Savior all the day long.

Perfect submission, all is at rest, I in my Savior am happy and blest,
Watching and waiting, looking above, Filled with His goodness, lost in His love.”

I am thankful that I can praise my Savior all the day long (sidenote: I am also so thankful for a godly grandmother who I can hear singing this in my head every time I hear, read or say these words…thankful for a godly heritage) no matter how exhausted I may feel. I am thankful that my main discouragement right now is really just a little 2 year old girl adjusting to a big Sunday School class (which really in the grand scheme of things is so minute). I am thankful for a husband who so kindly leads our family and prays with me that our little Emma will enjoy Sunday School someday soon. And I am thankful that God is using this to teach me to not be a people-pleaser but just be focused on honoring Him as we parent our little girls which He has so graciously blessed us with.

And so you see….this is why, in the end, I can even be thankful for this somewhat emotionally exhausting morning at church, really truly thankful for it as it reminded me that This is my story, this is my song, Praising my Savior all the day long;……no matter what this truth won’t change and I’m honored & humbled that God has given me this story & song.

3 Comments

Filed under Emma, Family Life

3 responses to “Praising My Savior All the Day Long.

  1. Awesome Ashley! Great song as well!! :)

  2. aunt sherry

    Ashley, thank you for this post. It reminded me that I am not in control of my life. That God is. I had forgotten this too until I read this. It brought me back to what I believe but have strayed from. So thank you for reminding me to give it all to him. Love, Aunt Sherry

  3. So glad to hear God used it in your life to bring you closer to Him, always a blessing to hear how God can use us to encourage one another. Thank you for letting me know Aunt Sherry! :)

Leave a Reply

