My First Mother’s Day.

Hello again everybody! I’M BACK!!!!! What a fun couple of weeks it has been and my oh my have I got some stories to fill you in on! And I will do just that…a very quick synopsis of our little family’s life the last couple weeks for Wednesday’s post.

The fabric flowers.

BUT for today, because yesterday was my very first Mother’s Day as a mommy, I just want to do a simple post to make sure I have these wonderful “firsts” memories documented. So here’s what my fantastic first mommy’s day was like….

It started the night before when (I couldn’t help myself) I sewed together a couple fabric flowers to pose as bows for bath bubbles I got for my mom and Eric’s mom. With the fabric flowers all ready to go I set them as the centerpiece for our Mother’s day lunch table, it’s just to fun to change the table decor for special occasions!

Emma was so excited to give me my present!

Onto the actual day now…waking up to Eric and Emma singing “happy mother’s day to you..” totally made me smile. Then Eric had set up a small path of pink heart post-it notes (with “I Love You” written on them) leading me out to our family room where he had chocolate, jr. mints (representing that I get to pick the movie for our next at-home movie date), and a book that I had been wanting for a while now sitting on a tray…their present to me for Mother’s day, so sweet!

My mom, Emma, and I.

Went to church, got lots of “Happy Mother’s Day” greetings. My parents came out to visit for the day, with everything we needed for a great lunch! So, while my dad and Eric headed out to grill the meat, my mom and I put little Emma down for her nap. Then we ate lunch and spent some time giving kind encouraging words to all the moms at the table (Me, my Mom, and Eric’s Mom). Always a fun special time! We watched the Laker game (not the best game they’ve ever played), played some Catan, talked, laughed, and of course ooooed & awwed at little Emma. It was a great day filled with great memories!

Our little family on Mother's Day.

I am so thankful to God for allowing me to experience motherhood. It is such a learning, joy-filled, and precious experience. Both exhausting and yet incredibly energizing at the same time. Both thrilling and heart-wrenching. There really are no words to describe it. I am beyond blessed to be Eric’s wife and Emma’s mother.

Emma and her Grandmas.

I am grateful for my mother, who showed all 4 of us kids how much she truly enjoyed being our mother day in and day out and still does just that. The prime example of what a godly mother should be and I can’t believe how lucky I was to be given her as my very own mother.

I am also incredibly grateful for my mother-in-law who raised such an amazing man of God, that I get to follow, love and encourage daily for the rest of my life. I can never thank you enough for that Mom Durso!

To both of you moms, thank you for all the time, love and sacrifices you gave to us, I appreciate it more and more each day. You are both so special and absolutely irreplaceable to us, love you both so so much!

Happy Mother’s day (one day late) to all the mommies out there! Keep it up, it’s the most important job you will ever do!

8 Comments

Filed under Family Life

8 responses to “My First Mother’s Day.

  1. Vicki Smith

    Amen..mothering is one of the best and most important jobs you will ever have!! You are a great mom and I love you so much.

  2. aunt sherry

    Ashley, what a great tribute to your moms. You said it so well.

  3. Tammi Durso

    Ashlely, you are such a blessing in our lives and we are so thankful you are the mother of our little Emma. We couldn’t ask for a better daughter-in-law. I’m glad your first Mother’s Day was so special.

  4. emma's aunt emily

    Fantastic first mother’s day! You are such a great mommy! super cute fabric flowers! and I totally want to borrow that book when you are done with it!

Leave a Reply

